Province No. 5

2, Nov 2020 |

Also known as Lumbini Province, it is named after a famous Buddhist pilgrimage site in Rupandehi District, Lumbini (the birthplace of Lord Buddha).


Province No. 5, also known as Lumbini Province, is named after a famous Buddhist pilgrimage site in Rupandehi District, Lumbini. The province covers a total area of 22,288 sq km - about 15.1% of the country’s total area. The capital of this state is Rapti Valley, Dang. The north border of this province touches the Gandaki and Karnali province, the western border to Sudurpaschim province, and the southern border to the Uttar Pradesh of India. Also, the Kali Gandaki River runs through the eastern boundary of the state.

The Terai plains and valleys of this province are mostly surrounded by hills that have about 15% of the land covered by protected forests. Whereas for the prominent peaks, one must visit the Eastern Rukum District along the Dhaulagiri Range. Consisting of twelve different districts and more than 15 major cities, Lumbini Province has its unique taste in ethnicity, culture, and natural sites of its own.


The lifestyle of the Lumbini province is mostly influenced by ethnic groups from Khas Arya, Adibasi Janajati, Tharu, and Dalit. It is also known as the howe-town to the Tharu community. Therefore, even though the most spoken language is Nepali, one will also find the majority of people speaking their cultural language, Tharu.


Most of the people who travel to province 5 make sure that they do not miss to visit the birthplace of Lord Buddha, Lumbini. It is a famous holy destination with over 25 international monasteries, also listed as a World Heritage Site. With this, other mentionable religious sites in this province are Sworgadwari (a hilltop temple and a pilgrimage site in Pyuthan District), Ridi (with several temples including Rishikesh and Mukundeshwar, Ridi lies on the banks of Kali Gandaki River), Jitgadi Killa Butwal and Siddha Baba temple (a Hindu temple of Lord Shiva in Palpa District).


This province consists of beautiful destinations for travelers that are suitable for short hikes and treks. Tansen in Palpa district is a beautiful town for a weekend gate-away. With Shreenagar Hills, Rani Mahal on the banks of Kali Gandaki River, and Ranighat Palace (Taj Mahal of Nepal), it is an attractive destination for travelers. Another valley located in Inner Terai of this province is Dang. Dang has numerous temples and gumbas with a unique religious spirit. Jaljala in Thabang Village Development Committee of Rolpa and Chappiya, 25 km far from Butwal, are other destinations that are currently gaining popularity for its natural beauty.


Bardiya National Park, Dhorpatan Hunting Reserve (originating from Province 4 but sharing its territory in Rukum district as well), and Banke National Park are well known protected areas of Province 5. These places offer an enduring experience in the natural collection of their flora and fauna. Home to the endangered Royal Bengal Tiger and Nepal's famous one-horned Rhino, Bardiya National Park is also the largest national park in Nepal.


Provinces of Nepal

Banke National Park




Dhaulagiri Range

join our newsLetter

powered by : nepal traveller digital publication pvt. ltd

developed by : Web House Nepal