Seven Interesting Facts About Nepal

More than just the land of Mount Everest and Gautam Buddha

29, Aug 2022 |

Nepal is globally renowned for its magnificent natural scenery and formidable mountains. The abundant indigenous and endangered species of flora and fauna like the Royal Bengal tiger, one-horned rhino, and rhododendron are the portrayal of an assorted and resilient ecosystem. The united multi-ethnic, multi-tradition, multi-lingual, multi-culture civilization is the glory of Nepal.

Apart from the pride of Nepal, Mount Everest, the world’s highest peak and the birthplace of Lumbini, there are lots of things in the palate of Nepal to offer you. Some of the most amusing lesser-known facts about Nepal are:

Land of the mystical Himalaya

Nepal is referred to as the land of the Himalayas, with abundant tranquil mountains that gracefully adorn its northern peninsula. Nepal is home to eight of the world's ten highest peaks, known collectively as the "Eight-thousanders." 

These summits all have a land elevation of at least 8000 metres (26,247 feet) above sea level. Among which is Mount Everest, the highest peak on Earth and the one with the most global acclaim at 8848 metres above sea level.

The list of "eight thousanders"

  • Mount Everest (8848 metres)
  • Kanchenjunga (8586 metres)
  • Lhotse (8516 metres)
  • Makalu (8481 metres)
  • Cho Oyu (8201 metres)
  • Dhaulagiri (8167 metres)
  • Manaslu (8156 metres)
  • Annapurna (8091 metres)

Only country to worship a living goddess

Nepal is the only country where the living goddess "Kumari" is worshipped. The Nepalese Newari Buddhist society chooses a Kumari from the Shakya caste, who is believed to possess the cumulative attributes of Taleju and Kali. As the human representation of the goddess Taleju, Kumari stands for strength and defence.

The term "Kumari" also refers to "unmarried". The Nepalese follow the tradition of worshipping prepubescent girls as an embodiment of almighty female power. The living goddess, Kumari, is idolised by tens of thousands of Hindus and Buddhist devotees, dwell in temples as children and are shuttled in chariots during festivals. They retire upon puberty.

The distinctive triangular flag of Nepal

Triangular flags are exceptionally rare, and Nepal's flag is the only non-rectangular one in the world. The flag of Nepal consists of two red triangles framed by a blue border. The crimson hue in the flag of Nepal is a metaphor of bravery and the shade of the red rhododendron, Nepal's national flower, while the blue border depicts peace. The moon resides in the upper triangle, and the sun occupies the lower triangle. It serves as an affirmation that the country will endure as long as the sun and stars are evident in the sky.

Diverse Ethnicity

Nepal is the ideal representation of ‘unity in diversity’. In Nepal, there are over 80 ethnic groups residing on the same floor in harmony and people who speak over 123 different languages. Nepal is an ethnically, linguistically, and religiously diverse nation that prides itself on maintaining its unity. Numerous ethnic groups in Nepal have statistically significant traditions and festivals that are honoured by everyone with compassion and respect.

Nepali calendar

Nepal follows its own distinctive calendar. In contrast to the Gregorian calendar used in the West, the Nepalese calendar, or Bikram Sambat, comprises both aspects of the lunar and solar calendars. As a result, each year's first day varies, but it always aligns with the first day of April according to the Gregorian calendar, where each year has 354 days. Additionally, this calendar incorporates an intercalary month every three years because each lunar month comprises 29 or 30 days according to the Moon's movement.

Despite being the official and most widely used calendar in the nation, the Nepalese calendar is not the only one because various castes and peoples also follow their own customary calendars as a reflection of the country's ethnic and religious diversity.

Dwelling for endangered species

Despite being a small area, Nepal has been blessed with a plethora of biodiversity and scenic wonders. Many exotic species can thrive in Nepal thanks to the nation's diversified, resilient ecosystem. Nepal now has a significantly higher percentage of invasive species

The red panda, elongated tortoise, Asian rhinoceros, Bengal tiger, king cobra, Indian python, Ganges dolphin, snow leopard, monitor lizard, marsh crocodile, and gavials are just a few of the several threatened species that have recently gleaned prominence in Nepal.

The Highest Density of Sites UNESCO Recognizes

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organisation) has allotted a significant number of sites in Nepal as "World Heritage Sites." Nepal has 10 World Heritage Sites in total, with seven of them being in Kathmandu.

The Buddhist stupas of Swayambhu and Bauddhanath, the Hindu temples of Pashupati and Changu Narayan, and the Buddhist stupas of Swayambhu, Patan, and Bhaktapur are among the seven attractions in Kathmandu listed by UNESCO.

The national parks of Nepal, including Chitwan National Park and Sagarmatha National Park, are on the list of World Heritage Sites and are magnificent sites with majestic mountains, glaciers, deep valleys, and unaltered remnants of the "Terai" region.


Also Read



The Sky Caves Of Nepal

Mountain Expedition In Nepal

Exceptional Wildlife Attraction In Chitwan National Park


join our newsLetter

powered by : nepal traveller digital publication pvt. ltd

developed by : Web House Nepal